Some states have no hunting age requirements for big game hunting, but most states have a minimum hunting age requirement for young hunters. Be sure to research the big hunting game laws in your state for any and all requirements for getting young hunters in the field.
Most states require some sort of hunter education course and firearms safety instruction is a must. Every youth hunter should be familiar with the firearm and it’s safety before venturing out to hunt.
Individual States Hunting Age Requirements for Young Hunters
*These may change from time to time, even month to month, so please go to the state hunting website for the latest and most current information and game laws. Please let us know if you find a problem.
· No age limit for supervised hunting
· At 16 years of age a young deer hunter must purchase a license
· Hunter education required to purchase a hunting license if born after Aug. 1, 1977
· 10 years old to hunt alone
· Under 16 must have basic hunter education or be under direct supervision of a licensed hunter
· 10 years old to hunt big game
· Must have a valid hunter education certificate from Arizona through the age of 13
· No age limit under the direct supervision of a hunter w/ valid hunting license & 21+ yrs old.
· Hunter education is required if born after Dec. 31, 1968
· At 16 years of age a Arkansas hunting license is required
· 12 years of age to purchase a deer tag
· No minimum age to purchase a hunting license if applicant has proof of hunter education
· 12 years to hunt big game
· Restrictions to the age of 18
· Must have completed a hunter education course to purchase any type of hunting
· 12 years w/ conservation education/firearms course
· Must purchase hunting license & be accompanied/supervised by a licensed hunter 18+ yrs of age
· 16 to hunt alone
· 10 yrs of age to take the Delaware hunter education course and become certified; may then hunt in youth hunts.
· 13 through 15 years must hunt with licensed adult who is 21 years of age.
· 16 years old and have completed a Hunter’s Safety Course to hunt alone
· Under 16 – no age limit for supervised hunting with a licensed adult 21 years of age or older
· 12 years old and completed a hunter education course to hunt alone
· under age 12 are not required to complete a hunter education course as long as under the direct supervision of a lawful hunter who is at least 18 years of age.
· 16 years old to hunt alone
· Must complete an approved hunter education course to purchase a license if born after Jan. 1, 1972.
· 12 years old to hunt big game
· 10 years old for supervised hunting, and 12 years old to hunt alone.
· If born after Jan. 1, 1975 you must have completed an approved hunter education course.
· 16 years of age to hunt alone.
· Hunters born after Jan. 1, 1980 must have successfully completed an approved hunter education course.
· no age limit, an apprentice hunter up to the age of 18 must be able to communicate with another licensed deer hunter who is at least 18 years old.
· hunter education course is required for anyone who was born on or after December 31, 1986 to get a hunting license in Indiana.
· 11 years old may register for hunter education.
· License required if under the age of 16 years old and hunting with a licensed hunter 18 years old.
· Anyone born after Jan. 1, 1972 must successfully complete a hunter education course.
· No minimum age to apply for a big game (deer hunting) permit.
· 16 and younger, may hunt without hunter education if directly supervised by someone 18 or older.
· 12 years of age to hunt alone (Other restrictions may apply).
· Hunter education is required for all hunters born after Jan. 1, 1975.
· Ages 12 to 15 need the Youth Sportsman’s License and be accompanied by an adult.
· Under the age of 12 must be accompanied by and adult who 18 years of age or older and who has completed and meets the hunter education requirement.
· All hunters born after Sept. 1, 1969 must show proof of successfully completing an approved hunter safety course.
· Hunters 16 and under may hunt with an adult 18 years old or older who has completed an approved hunter safety course or who has in his possession a valid hunting license.
· Under 10 years of age are not allowed to hunt.
· Must be at least 10 years of age to attend firearms/archery safety course.
· Young deer hunters between the age of 10 through 15 must possess a junior license.
· Over 16 must have a valid adult license to hunt.
· 14 years of age and younger must attend with participating adult.
· Must have completed an approved hunter education course unless you have previously hunted there prior to July 1, 1977.
· Ages 16 and under can participate in the Junior Hunter Certificate Program.
· No information available at this writing for age requirements.
· Young deer hunters can be licensed at age 12 while hunting on private land supervised by a licensed adult within visual and verbal contact.
· An apprentice hunter program allows individuals 17 and under to hunt.
· Hunter education required if born after Jan. 1, 1960.
· Ten and 11 years olds may obtain a free firearm license before hunting big game.
· Valid for either-sex deer in lottery, managed, and intensive.
· Firearms safety certificate course may be taken at age 11
· Ages 12 and 13 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian while hunting.
· Hunter education course required if born after Jan. 1, 1972.
· A deer hunter under the age of 12 must be accompanied and directly supervised by by a licensed or exempt hunter who is at least 21 years of age.
· Deer hunters born after Jan. 1, 1967 must complete an approved hunter education program.
· 6 years of age through 15 may purchase a youth antlerless deer hunting permit and must hunt while supervised/mentored by an adult or 18 years of age or older who is hunter-education certified.
· Hunters born after Jan. 1, 1985 complete and show a certificate of completing a hunter education course.
· Montana youth 12 – 17 who have completed hunter education are eligible to get their first hunting license free.
· Young deer hunters who are 10 or 11 may hunt under the supervision of a licensed deer hunter who is 19 or older.
· 12 through 15 must have completed a firearm hunter education program and be accompanied by a licensed hunter who is at least 19 years old.
· Hunters 12 through 29 who have not completed a firearm hunter education program may obtain an Apprentice hunter education exemption certificate.
· Hunters born after Jan. 1, 1960 are required to provide proof of completing an approved hunter education course.
· No minimum age to take Nevada’s course, but students under the age of 11 are required to take with an adult.
· 12 to 15 year olds may purchase a hunting license with a parental/legal guardian signature.
· Everyone is required to take training course specific to the license type they want to purchase; besides the basic hunter education i.e.. “firearms safety”.
· Must be at least 12 years old by completion of the course and certification.
· No minimum age for youth hunters, but must e accompanied by a licensed adult 18 years old or older.
· Home study course for hunter education and then attend a one-day field session with an instructor.
· Youths ages 10 – 13 must be accompanied by a properly licensed adult 21 years of age or older.
· At age 16 youths may purchase the license.
· Under the age of 18, a hunter education course certification is required to apply or purchase any type of firearm license.
· Young hunters 12 through 15 must apply in person the first time with proof of age and a proper sportsman education certification.
· The Junior Hunter Mentoring program allows 14 – 15 years olds to hunt deer and bear with a firearm and must be mentored by a parent, guardian, or person 21 years or older.
· Junior Mentor Hunting allows 12 and 13 years olds to hunt small game.
· Anyone born after July 1, 1991 must have successfully completed a hunting safety course.
· Youths 12 to 16, after successfully completing a hunter safety course may hunt when accompanied by a licensed adult.
· Anyone born after 1961 needs a certificate of hunter education to purchase a hunting license; exception is a person under the age of 12 who hunts with parent or guardian.
· Youths ages 12 and 13 are eligible to receive and antlerless whitetail deer license.
· Hunters 14 and 15 may be able to receive a youth hunters license.
· Anyone hunter afield under 15 years of age must be accompanied by and under direct supervision of a parent, guardian, or adult authorized by their parent of guardian.
· A hunter education certification is required.
· All “Youth Hunts”; hunters 17 years of age and under must be accompanied by a non-hunting adult 18 years or older.
· Apprentice Hunters” must be accompanied by another person who is at least 21 years of age and has in his possession a valid hunting license.
· 10 years of age and under must complete hunter education and be accompanied by a licensed hunter 21 or older.
· Persons over 10 years old may hunt alone after successfully completing hunter education and buying a license.
· Hunters under the age of 18 must successfully complete a hunter education program unless hunting on land owned by their parents, guardian, or are participating in the Mentored Youth Hunter Program.
· Hunters 12 years of age must purchase a valid adult hunting license.
· Youths 9 – 12 must purchase and adult hunting license to participate in the point saver program.
· Provisions for 13 years old and younger must be accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older if hunting.
· First time hunters must successfully complete a hunter-trapper education course.
· 12 – 16 years olds or Junior license holders must be accompanied by an adult.
· A junior hunter, a person 12 – 14 years of age who has completed a basic hunter education safety course must be in the immediate company of an licensed qualified adult 21 years of age or older.
· All hunters born after June 30, 1979 must complete a hunter education course before a hunting license can be bought.
· Children 12 and under must be accompanied by a guardian when attending hunter education class.
· Youth hunts for hunter under 17 are available.
· Requires a firearms hunter safety cards for youths ages 12 to 15 to purchase a hunting license.
· Cards from other states are honored
· Mentored Hunter program for resident youth hunters age 10 and less than 16.
· Mentor (resident parent/guardian) must be at least 18 years of age, successfully completed the hunter education course, possess a valid hunting license, and must be in immediate contact and under direct supervision.
· Youths 10 years of age or older must meet Hunter education requirements.
· Young Sportsman 6 – 16 must be accompanied by a non-hunting adult, 21 years of age or older, who must remain.
· Every hunter born after Sept. 2, 1971 must successfully complete a hunter education course
· Young hunters age 9 – 16 must be accompanied by a person who is at least 17 and is licensed to hunt in Texas.
· A hunter born after Dec. 31, 1965 must provide proof of successfully completing an approved hunter education course.
· To hunt big game in Utah a hunter must be at least 12 years old.
· Youth hunters under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other responsible person 21 years old or older, whose is approved by parent/legal guardian.
· Hunter education required
· A person under the age of 16 must have his or her parent or guardians sign in the presence of of an issuing agent to obtain a hunting license
· Hunter education course is mandatory of 12 – 15 year old first time hunters.
· Young deer hunters under the age of 12 must be accompanied and directly supervised (within sight) of a parent/guardian or designated adult.
· Individuals born after Jan. 1, 1972 need to show proof of successful completion of a basic hunter education course.
· Individuals born after Jan. 1, 1975 must successfully complete a certified hunter education course.
· It is unlawful for anyone under the of 15 to hunt on public lands unless accompanied by a licensed adult 18 or older who remains close enough.
· West Virginia offers special youth seasons with exceptions.
· Individuals born after Jan. 1, 1973 must have a certification of successfully completing a hunter safety course.
· Hunting Mentorship Program for novice hunters 10 years of age and older.
· No person under the age of 12 may obtain a hunting license; exception is the Hunting Mentorship Program.
· Individuals born after Jan. 1, 1966 must have a certificate of completion of a firearm safety course.
· Youths must be 12 years of age to take big game.
· A hunter mentor must be at least 18 years of age and possess a valid Wyoming license.
Protect Your Investment with Trip Insurance!
When you travel, especially when you are going on a hunt in a remote location, things often don’t go well.
With travel insurance through Travel Guard you’ll have valuable coverage that travels with you and your family. We’re America’s leading provider of travel insurance plans and assistance programs and we’re here to help you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, day or night, rain or shine.
Talk to an Outfitter about a hunt.
If you’re wanting some more information, just fill out the form and let us know what your questions are. Outfitters are looking forward to talking to answering your questions. If you’d like to talk to someone directly, or you’re ready to book a hunt now, give us a call at (208) 789-0740.